Registered users (members) don’t see this ad!

Sign in to follow this  
Guest lshafter

Unibody Damage

Guest lshafter

I had a 2005 Corolla that was "t-boned" in June of 2005. The repair was about 9,000.00. And the autobody shop said it was as good as new. I'm not a mechanic and "automotively challenged."

Over the years car drove ok, but seemed to use more than it's share of front tires. Today December 2009, I took it in for a front end allingment. They asked me if the car had ever been in an accident?

They said I should take it in to have the frame (unibody) straightened. Other than the obvious, it is a great car and I don't want to get rid of it. My questions are:

1) Would this work and how much would it cost?

2) Would the original body shop be liabile for any warranty work or at least a discounted price?

Any advice or persons having similar experience. I'd love to here from you. Thank

Here's a link to the copy of the alignment report for any experts out there. I have no idea what it all means:

http://i122.photobucket.com/albums/o278/pantsfiddler/alignmentrpt.jpg

Edited by lshafter

Cost would depend on the extent of the damage. As for the unit body damage - that should have been addressed by the first shop. But past experience has shown me that they never get the frame quite where it needs to be. Many times, you can get the frame pulled to within spec, but over time it will eventually drift off.

This could affect the shop's liability, unless you have some sort of guarantee on workmanship from the shop, you are pretty much SOL. Couldn't hurt to ask the shop that did the initial work. Ask them for paperwork on your car, exactly what was done - see if there is any mention of unitbody straightening.