Corollas2019-23ToyotasTech

Search Corolland!

How To Replace The Rear Brake Shoes On My 1999 Corolla Ve?

by Bad_dude, January 9, 2011

Bad_dude

This is my first time doing this and I do have the Haynes manual but the black and white pictures and instructions are kind of confusing. Thus I am here to ask for some pointers. I get confuse when it comes to the adjuster star wheel and adjustment. Some sites say to turn the star wheel all the way in and adjust it to a drag after all parts are installed. Other sites say nothing about turn the star wheel all the way in and just install it then adjust it after all parts are installed. So I am asking some of you experts and frequent brake shoes changers to give a step by step to make my first job easier and more importantly safe to brake afterward.

Thanks,

The rear brakes will self-adjust to get the shoes to the right distance away from the drum, but I prefer to adjust them as close as possible before that to minimize the "adjustment" time. Even though the rear brakes only do a fraction of the braking, if you don't adjust them by hand, you'll have some funky braking until they get adjusted. Also, if the brakes are too far off, they might not be able to adjust at all.