Corollas2019-23ToyotasTech

Search Corolland!

Corolla2003, December 17, 2009

Hi everybody,

My car is 2003 Corolla LE. The engine runs pretty smoothly. Today, the check engine light was illuminated. When I pulled the code, it tells me: cylinder #1, #2, #3, #4 misfire. This is the 3rd time check engine light was illuminated.

The first time the light illuminated is around exact one year ago in Dec 2008. The code was Cylinder #1 misfire. What i did is that I changed all the spark plugs and unfortunately I did not gap the plugs properly. So two weeks later the light was illuminated again (2nd time). The code was Cylinder #1 and #3 misfire. Following this, I changed all the plugs again using iridium plugs recommended by Toyota dealer and had the gap checked. Meanwhile I added some fuel injector cleaner (Lucas product). The problem was gone.

Exactly one year later, today, the check engine light was on again. Currently I have been using the same injector cleaner (lucas) since 2 months when winter started.

What I remembered is that all of these engine misfire happened right after a sudden drop of the temperature, e.g. last night from 0 to -12 (Celsius) - I live in Montreal. The first two time, it was like this time, i mean, I left the car parking outside more than 5 or 6 hours while the temperature dropped suddenly. The check engine light was illuminated right after a engine start up (around 30 second after the engine started) in all these three times.

Has anybody experienced the same problem? Does anybody know what is happening. Please help!

Any suggestions are appreciated! Thank you in advance for replying!

Hi All,