Corollas2019-23ToyotasTech

Search Corolland!

2001 Corolla Check Engine P0420

by ecellis, November 10, 2009

Hello everyone,

I am new to this message board and really hope someone can help me. My wife has a 2001 Corolla S. It's a 4 cyl with automatic transmission and air conditioner (not sure if that matters but more info is better than less). To be honest I am not much of a car guy. I change my own oil, belts and simple stuff like that. Her car's check engine light will turn on every couple weeks with the P0420 (Catalyst Efficiency Below Threshold - Bank 1) error. The car seems to run normally when the light is on but it seems to get worse fuel mileage. Where is the sensor that is giving the error? I thought that maybe I could clean it. I am an electronics engineer but like I said, no mechanic. If someone can give me an idea of where to locate the sensor, I would greatly appreciate it! If money wasn't so tight I'd go buy the service manual.

Do I need a special wrench to remove the sensor? Is there anything I should know before doing this?

Thank you very much for your help!!!

Eric

P.S. If this is a common error and someone knows the solution, please let me know.

That type of mileage is on the car? If over 80K miles, a bad O2 sensor might also be a culprit, that you might want to put up on your radar. Does the car consume a considerable amount of engine oil? If it does, how much? If oil consumption is excessive (a quart every few hundreds of miles) - it is possible that the catalytic converter is clogged or even poisoned (additives in the oil).