Corollas2019-23ToyotasTech

Search Corolland!

1999 Corolla Le Will Not Idle

Guest Trackrocket

Hello, this is my first post on this forum...so take it easy on me. default_smile

I am a member of several technical forums to include Ford Trucks (F250 PSD 6.0L), several Porsche related forums (I race one) and a Chevy SSR and Hummer forum (neighbor has issues all the time with his).

NOW my other neighbor has a 1999 Corolla LE with what seems to be a simple problem...

It starts and runs well, when when you let it idle, it dies. The engine seems to run real well, I checked oil levels, clean air filter, you name it and looked for a MAF...couldn't find one. I'm not a mechanic but am very mechanical...I do all the work on my Diesel truck, Porsche race car, girlfriends Jeep, the weed-whacker, the lawn mower...even a leaf blower - Haha...but didn't want to leap into replacing parts on my neighbor's Corolla.

I see an idle screw, but figure that's not the problem as it's locked by the small nut and still has the factory paint pen mark to see that it remains at that adjustment.

Should I check timing? If so, what should I look for, I have a light.

There is a sensor above the throttle body (reads something like "Sensor Vac") and one below that I can't quite read...I have unplugged both of them and worked the connectors a bit in an attempt to improve a possible weak connection...no dice. The car was a quart low on oil and I used to own a Vega that would do this if it was low on oil...added a quart, no go...

I am guessing one of these sensors is a TPS?? I don't hear the audible "click" that I look for on my 911 racer that indicates the TPS is engaging...am I on the right track here?

Sorry for all the questions, I have done a search on this issue and found A LOT of posts that discuss high or erratic idle, but none that talk about the engine just dying at idle. So what suggestions might you have for me to become the "hero" once again with another neighbor?? default_biggrin