Corollas2019-23ToyotasTech

Search Corolland!

Someone From Atlanta, Ga?

By herbert, March 26, 2007

Hi there,

I'm a student from Germany, working on my thesis at a company in Atlanta, GA.

I recently bought am used Corolla and a few days ago the check engine light came on, with a misfire code. The guy at the shop suspected the plugs or something in the electronics, but just reset the code as it didn't tell which cylinder it was.

My question now is if there's someone around from Atlanta area, who could help me out with tools and a place to actually work on the car.

As my luggage was already overweight, I didn't bring my tools over here. ;-)

Cheers!

Hi there,

I recently bought am used Corolla and a few days ago the check engine light came on, with a misfire code. The guy at the shop suspected the plugs or something in the electronics, but just reset the code as it didn't tell which cylinder it was.

My question now is if there's someone around from Atlanta area, who could help me out with tools and a place to actually work on the car.

Cheers!

I used to live in Marietta. There is an AutoZone there (off of 120) that is open 24 hours and lets you borrow tools. I think the official policy is no work in the lot, but people do it all the time. That's on the north/north-west side of atlanta. Another trick I've used is to find a car wash where you wash your own car via a high-pressure wand, and use the bay to help protect from rain/wind while doing work on the car. A 5/8" deep well socket and ratchet aren't expensive, and if you buy from a place with a good return policy, you might be able to get your money back when you finish. That isn't my preferred way of doing things though.

There's a really good mechanic/garage directly off of 120... I think it was called Arnold's. I don't have an address handy though. They were really good and honest when I lived there.

Unfortunately, I no longer know anyone in that area that could help you out.