Corollas2019-23ToyotasTech

Search Corolland!

By DaRi_GJ, November 21, 2006

DaRi_GJ

Hi all, this is my first time posting, I find this forum really helpful.

I have a 2002 corolla CE, I bought it about a month ago from another person.

It had a P1656 code -OCV circuit malfunction (bank 1)- (My bad for buying it like that) I took it to an independent technician. (Changed air filter, fixed air intake leak, fixed an air filter box crack, supposedly connected a loose wire) and the code was gone.

Minutes after I drove it the light came on with the P0420. Tried to check the cat converter but there was no cat converter!!! They erased the code, but it came back after a couple of hours.

I searched for cat converters on the web, I found some for about $200 (Direct fit) and other for about $60 (Universal) – 1st question: what’s the difference? Quality? Cons?

I also searched for O2 sensors since I don’t know if they are good, and I found (1, 2, 3 and 4 wires sensors) – 2nd question: why is that??? which one am I supposed to use? Isn’t it standard? (sorry if I’m being ignorant)

3rd - Besides polluting the environment and having a very poor mileage (18 mpg!!!!!), what else can happen for not having the cat converter? (emission tests are not required in my country)- the poor mileage should have other causes, I'm working on that, but that's gonna be another post.

4th – I’m not using leaded fuel, and I’ll check the O2 sensors/ spark plugs/cleaned de MAF sensor (I learned how to do it by reading your posts default_wink ). What else am I supposed to check before installing a new cat converter so it doesn’t get killed again? Consider my knowledge about cars is really limited.

Extremely long post, but thank your very much for your help!

Welcome to the forum!

Hmm. Hard to believe that there was no cat on the car - that would have been the first code stored or one of the codes stored with the P1656 code.