Sign in to follow this  
quietvibes

How Do You Replace Stereo Head Unit From 95 Corolla

I'm a complete noob when it comes to this. Right now I just want to remove the stock stereo head unit from my 95 corolla. I think something inside is making a vibration and the cassette player don't work anymore anyway.

Can someone tell me how to do it? I know you are supposed to disconnect the battery terminal first. Then it probably involves prying open something in the areas around the stereo with a flat head screwdriver. I think I read somewhere that you got to remove the heater switch too. can someone give me a more detailed description as to where to start prying?

Thanks

Before you start:

Remove power - disconnect the negative battery terminal, make sure it doesn't flop back and make contact by accident.

Remove the knobs on the HVAC sliders, they just pull off.

Just take a small, flat screwdriver (put tape on the ends to prevent it from badly scratching the plastic), stick it in gaps between the radio finish panel, work slowly around - it will pop off.

After that finish panel pops off, you will have to disconnect the wiring harness plugs going to the clock, rear defroster, A/C button, and hazard lights. Radio itself is mounted to a bracket, the bracket is mounted with screws in the front. To remove the headunit, remove the screws in the front, and the whole unit will slide out. Note that there is wiring behind the headunit (radio connections, wiring bundle (main wiring harness), antenna lead wire, and possible ground strap.

Before you start:

Remove power - disconnect the negative battery terminal, make sure it doesn't flop back and make contact by accident.

Remove the knobs on the HVAC sliders, they just pull off.

Just take a small, flat screwdriver (put tape on the ends to prevent it from badly scratching the plastic), stick it in gaps between the radio finish panel, work slowly around - it will pop off.