Corollas2019-23ToyotasTech

Search Corolland!

Motor Oil

By Rolland, December 9, 2015

• 33 posts

Are all conventional motor oils (e.g. Quaker State, and etc.) made from recycled oil? I am informed this is the reason why we should use synthetic oil. Any thoughts?

I'm no expert, but I think the opposite of what you've been told. That is, most conventional oils are not made from recycled oil. A couple of years ago Valvoline made a big push on their Nextgen recycled oil, which is 50% recycled. To me that implies that most conventional oil does not have much, if any recycled oil in it. What I've always heard is that oil never wears out, it just gets dirty and the additives wear out or are used up. There are supposed to be many advantages to synthetic oil, but I don't think conventional oil being mostly recycled is one of them. I would be suspicious of other things you've heard from the person who gave you that information.

Regardless if it is conventional or synthetic - all motor oil will have some percentage of it having recycled oil.

Poster Beel makes a great point - oil itself, the physical properties of the base oil, doesn't "wear out" - its the additive package, dispersants, detergents, and viscosity index improvers that are taking the brunt of the damage. Its these additives that give oil its unique color, not how much recycled oil content they have.