Corollas2019-23ToyotasTech

Search Corolland!

Engine Oil

by Bull6791, September 16, 2014

See every reply in these pages:

I changed my oil and I used PENNZOIL ULTRA PLATINUM with WIX filter. This is my first time using synthetic oil.

My question is : not all oil works well with all cars/engines. What would car do or what are signed if oil is not working well in car.

I was just curious.

Frank.

Don't worry - you'll definitely know if the car doesn't do well with the oil.

Most of the time, it will present itself as excessive chattering or clacking noises under the hood. Sometimes the engine seems like it doesn't want to rev, feels like it is filled with molasses, you might even see excessive oil consumption.

UOA will be quite useful here - will tell you how the engine is running. Might have been nice to get a baseline with the old oil first, but not necessary. You can find typical numbers for this engine on the BITOG forums, if you are curious. Or you can post up your UOA, whenever you get it done on this forum, we can chime in and tell you what we see.

You can't get oil that is much better than what you got... If there's a problem, you can't blame it on the oil.

Car seems to be running great with PENNZOIL ULTRA PLATINUM 5w-30 OIL with WIX filter.

I am going to do UOA at 5,000 miles. If they say it can go longer should I leave oil in past 5,000 or know matter what it say change oil at 5,000 miles.

Frank

That is up to you and what exactly they say the total reserve alkalinity is like. With an oil like Pennzoil Ultra Platinum, unless there is something wrong with the engine or your driving conditions are extreme - leaving it go longer if they say it is fine should be no problem. How far you can actually go - that takes some work on your end.