Corollas2019-23ToyotasTech

Search Corolland!

Tapping Into Power In Overhead Light 2003 Corolla

Guest nduda78

I have an 06 RAV4 and 03 Corolla (corolla is my fiances). I have in the RAV4 a sirius starmate with window mount kit. On the RAV4 forums i found the DIY on how to tap into power up at the over head light so I dont have to use the cig. lighter adapter anymore...works like a charm!

Does anyone know what wires I can tap into on the 2003 Corolla? I just got another radio (starmate) for my fiance finally and would like to do the same.

Like the RAV4, the radio only should work when on acc. or started.

- Nick

I'm an amateur radio operator, and I operate a dual-band VHF/UHF transceiver in my '03 Corolla LE. I tap the power directly from the battery terminals. However, my radio requires a solid 8 to 10 amps while transmitting at full power, and the current directly from the battery is less likely to have any sort of impulse noise, since the battery acts like a large filter capacitor. This also provides a more direct and reliable DC ground for the radio. Of course, the power source to the transceiver is always "on," and the transceiver will work whether the car is switched "on" or not. The transceiver has an automatic power off feature which I have set for 2 hours of play time before the rig goes to sleep.