Corollas2019-23ToyotasTech

Search Corolland!

By ToyoTom, July 1, 2013

Hi, all. This is my first post, but I've been driving Toyota pickups and a Corolla for about 30 years.

SUBJECT VEHICLE: 1995 Corolla DX stationwagon (1.8L)

I'm replacing the STARTER SOLENOID's copper contacts. I've pulled the starter and opened the contacts compartment.

There's a WHITE PAPER SHIM behind the right-side contact (see photo). It's like a waxed paper, and is very thin - a few thousands of an inch, I'd say. It seems to position that contact slightly closer to the spinning plunger, but as you can see, the contacts have worn very unevenly. The right-hand contact is nearly worn through, while the left contact exhibits almost no wear at all.

I'm replacing both contacts and the plunger with this kit.

QUESTION: Should I leave that shim in place when installing the new contacts and plunger?

My guess is that it'll make no real difference, considering how uneven the wear has been (and I'm told uneven wear is normal for these things). My guess it that I should remove that shim...but I have zero experience at this, so I'm asking you guys. Thanks

Might want to wait for the 7th gen guys to post up, to be sure, But I've seen Denso solenoids without the paper shim - so you should be OK with not replacing the paper shim - as you mentioned, there to push it closer to the plunger.

Might be something specific to a model year or manufacturer. My own Dodge truck starter (MOPAR uses Nippon Denso starters) looks almost exactly like your - sans the shim, and both the contacts were worn, with the wider one worn slightly more than the other. Used a similar kit to replace the copper contacts - no issues so far.

Thanks, fishexpo101.

I installed the new contacts last evening, and have to remount/reinstall the starter this morning.

I left the shim in place.

It's a bear trying to work in that tight engine compartment, so I hope leaving the shim in place causes no problems.

I'll post my results.