Corollas2019-23ToyotasTech

Search Corolland!

Newbie Has Some Questions Fixing 1996 Corolla

By Guest gorillajin, December 10, 2009 in Pre-1997 Toyota Corolla and Geo Prizm

Guest gorillajin

Hello,

I am trying to help my friend who has 1996 corolla.

He got engine oil lamp, but he ignored and kept driving about 1200 miles. One day he heard this loud knocking&hitting sound in the engine so he checked the engine oil dip stick.

No oil in the engine.

What happened to his engine? I just now checked his car, and it sound like rod is gone. White smokes coming out from the tail pipe and smells like coolant.

I assume it blew the head gasket and may be internal too. I checked the oil from the dis stick, and it was dark brown. He put fresh oil yesterday.....I am not a mechanic and I have never owned corolla, so I am asking you guys.

He doesn't have money to buy another used car so I really hope he can fix the car.

Basically if he decides to fix it, I will fix the car.

How hard is replacing HG on these cars? If it had spun rod brearing, is it worth to fix it or just replace the whole engine?

If any of you has experience with replacing HG or other internal stuff, please give me some advice.

I really hope he can ride it again.

Thank you.

Hello and Welcome to the forum.

Your friend saw the oil lamp and keep going for 1200 miles - that engine is pretty much toast. I'm surprised the engine kept going at all. That oil pressure warning comes on at a really low pressure - you basically have to be completely out of oil to see that lamp. Not only do you have to pinpoint what caused the original oil loss, but fix that with all the other damage that has occured to the engine. He is pretty much looking at a rebuild or engine swap at this point.