Corollas2019-23ToyotasTech

Search Corolland!

Are We Better Drivers?

By muzak, July 28, 2006

I'm a friendly biker when not driving my CE and that gives me a sixth sense. I'm cut off on my bike constantly and those of you with bikes know what I'm talking about.

I've noticed though..I don't think I've ever been cut off or seen an idiot who was driving a Corolla or even a Camry for that matter. Maybe when people get behind the wheel of something as precious as a Toyota they tend to take better care of their investment.

I hope I'm a better driver than a bike rider. Last Sunday, I took an evening ride to cool off after doing some yard work. It had been raining hard earlier that day. I encountered some mud on a side street I was riding on, and thought twice about riding thru it. However, it looked like a thin layer that had dried, so I tried it. Well, it turned out to be thick and the consistency of peanut butter. I slowed down considerably, but still lost control and got thrown off, spraining my left wrist, and getting a bad poke in the ribs with the handlebar. Also scraped the heck out of my left knee, but didn't hurt it otherwise. I've been off work all week with these injuries, had numerous doctor's visits, multiple X-rays, and more to come tomorrow.

So, as bad a bike rider as I proved to be, I hope I do better driving my Corolla. Until last Sunday, I would have said "yes," but now I'm not so sure. I can only hope that I am.

But what happened to the bike?

• 1,424 posts
Maybe when people get behind the wheel of something as precious as a Toyota they tend to take better care of their investment.