Corollas2019-23ToyotasTech

Search Corolland!

2001 1Zzfe No Start Condition After Head Rebuild

By Seeber, June 2, 2016

Hello everyone, I have a 2001 1ZZFE with a no start condition after rebuilding head. Engine ran before rebuild and just had one burned exhaust valve. Head rebuilt at a great pro machine shop specializing in heads. Engine cranks and begins to run but dies right away. Feels like timing is off but I'm pretty positive I got the chain back on correctly... it's not that difficult, double and triple checked it but it is my first attempt performing this repair on this engine. Compression is around 120 psi on all 4. Checked crank position sensor and seems good, puts out signal. Checked connectors and can't see anything obvious. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated. Actually have another '01 waiting for a timing chain replacement so would like to solve issue to proceed. Any ideas will be greatly appreciated. Thank you.

VVT-i actuator is unlocked? Not sure if you sent the whole head in, or took the cams off. The timing gear should not be locked when you reassemble the engine. This could cause the install to become much harder to do + the timing is offset. Same goes with the camshaft position sensor - these can get damaged, causing intermittent output - confuse the PCM.

I'd double check all the simple stuff - vacuum leaks, bad/damaged sensors, pinched wires, corroded connectors (corroded surprising quickly when the engine is apart for rebuilding - depending on where the parts are stored), etc.

Getting good spark on all igniters? Could be bad connections, damaged PCM, pinched wires, etc.

Getting fuel to all plugs - possible bad injector, injector leak, damaged fuel rail, leak at fuel line, fuel pump bad, bad electrical connections. Pull plugs after it cranks and dies a few times - the plugs should be wet or smell heavy of fuel.