20 replies to this topic

#1 Silver Bullet

Silver Bullet

2nd Gear

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 156 posts

Posted 19 August 2004 - 02:41 AM

I've been using Castrol Syntec 5W-50 for several years with no problems. However, I'm thinking about switching to Mobil 1 because I've read/heard so many good things about it. Also, I've noticed that Mobil 1 is slightly cheaper than Castrol Syntec. So which one takes the crown in this debate?

#2 fishexpo101

fishexpo101

I know Karate, Kung Fu, and 47 other dangerous words...

• Global Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 9,445 posts

Posted 19 August 2004 - 02:27 PM

I'd go with Mobil 1 - both are good oils, and you would save some money with the Mobil.

I'm not sure of Castrol's has changed its makeup in the past few years - but Mobil 1's make up is PAO base stock (Group IV, true synthetic) and and Castrol Syntec is hydroisomerized petroleum base stock (Group III, dewaxed convential oil).

#3 Guest_Buckeyeman_*

Guest_Buckeyeman_*
  • Guests

Posted 19 August 2004 - 05:45 PM

I've been using Mobil 1 since 1987 and love it. I use it in my cars, lawnmower, snowblower, pressure washer and I use the 2-cycle Mobil 1 in my 2 stroke trimmer.

You can also get it at Sam's Club for $3.88 qt. or if your not a member watch the sales at K-mart for $4 qt.

#4 Silver Bullet

Silver Bullet

2nd Gear

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 156 posts

Posted 19 August 2004 - 07:47 PM

Thanks for your input. I live in Southern California so cold weather starting isn't an issue. Do you think I should use 5w-30 or 10w-30?

#5 Jeff726

Jeff726

4th Gear

• Active Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 534 posts

Posted 19 August 2004 - 09:26 PM

10w-30 should be just fine.

#6 Guest_gleve_*

Guest_gleve_*
  • Guests

Posted 26 February 2005 - 04:51 PM